Why So Many Movies Suck

A Parable.

Once upon a time there was a very rich man.

He had all he wanted, except he never stopped wanting.

The world says fame is the thing, and movies are where to get it.

So he goes to Hollywood and set’s up shop.

He announces his money is here, and ready to go.

A day later a young person comes in and says, ” I have written a script about my life. I have been transformed through an understanding I gained in the simplest of conversations with an old man outside cafe. And, I’ve wrapped the truth of it in a tale of quest and hope.”

“Will it make me famous?” asked the rich man.

“I don’t know. But, I know that even in its script form it has touched those who’ve read it.”

“But will I get fame and respect?!”

“I don’t know.”

“Then, goodbye.”

Then a man shows up and says, “I have a movie about a superhero, and look at this amazing script!”

The man then explains how every single scene has followed a formula that always works.

“The people loved this bit in that one movie.

Look, it’s just the same.

Bit, bit, and laugh.

And, look how the tears flow, as we remember his hard childhood. This will be huge and make us both famous!”

“Let’s do it!” said the rich man.

And day after day, company after company, filed through his doors.

 

Leave a Reply

